SPE logo

2013 International Award Winners

The SPE Board of Directors approved the 2013 International Award recipients at their recent meeting in Calgary, Canada. The winners were chosen from a pool of first-rate candidates. Seventeen international award committees recommended these winners to the board because of their outstanding and significant technical, professional, and service contributions to SPE and the petroleum industry. SPE President Egbert Imomoh will present the awards to the winners at the Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition (ATCE) in New Orleans. Please join SPE in congratulating the 2013 SPE International Award recipients.

View past winners:

2011 International Award Winners »
2012 International Award Winners »


Honorary Membership

  • Ali Rashid Al Jarwan, Abu Dhabi Marine Operating Company, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
  • Kate Hadley H. Baker, BP America, Houston, Texas, USA
  • Emmanuel O. Egbogah, Emerald Energy Resources, Lagos, Nigeria
  • Turgay Ertekin, Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Pennsylvania, USA
  • Medhat M. Kamal, Chevron, San Ramon, California USA
  • Giovanni Paccaloni, Paccaloni Consulting, Milan, Italy
  • Fred I. Stalkup, Dallas, Texas, USA


John Franklin Carll Award 

  • Albert C. Reynolds, Jr., University of Tulsa, Oklahoma USA


Anthony F. Lucas Gold Medal

  • Kishore K. Mohanty, University of Texas, Austin, Texas USA


Lester C. Uren Award

  • Erdal Ozkan, Colorado School of Mines, Golden, Colorado USA


Robert Earll McConnell Award 

  • Theodore M. Streit, Gaddy Engineering, Charleston, West Virginia USA


Charles F. Rand Memorial Gold Medal

  • Sara H. Akbar, Kuwait Energy, Salmiyah, Kuwait


DeGolyer Distinguished Service Medal

  • Thomas Blasingame, Texas A&M University, New Zealand


Distinguished Achievement Award for Petroleum Engineering Faculty 

  • Hisham Nasr-El-Din, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas USA


Public Service Award 

  • Elizabeth Einhorn, Eagle Rock Energy Partners, Midland, Texas USA


Distinguished Service Award

  • Joshua S. Etkind, Shell, New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
  • Loris Tealdi, Eni E&P, Milan Italy


Distinguished Member 

  • Tayfun Babadagli, University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada
  • Maria A. Barrufet, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas, USA
  • Marco Brignoli, Eni E&P, Milan, Italy
  • Ernie Brown, Schlumberger, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
  • Stephen K. Cheung, Yorba Linda, California, USA
  • Gokhan Coskuner, Husky Energy, Calgary, Canada
  • Nnaemeka Ezekwe, BP America, The Woodlands, Texas USA
  • Richard J. Hallam, BP America, Katy, Texas USA
  • Byron Haynes, Shell Exploration & Production, Houston, Texas USA
  • Leonard J. Kalfayan, Hess Corporation, Houston, Texas USA
  • Michael J. King, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas USA
  • Tadeusz W. Patzek, University of Texas, Austin, Texas USA
  • Gary F. Teletzke, ExxonMobil Upstream Research, Houston, Texas USA
  • Terry L. Thoem, Thoem & Associates, Katy, Texas USA
  • Diederik van Batenburg, Shell Global Solutions, Rijswijk, Netherlands


Cedric K. Ferguson Medal and Certificate 

  • Kenji Furui, ConocoPhillips, Stavanger, Norway (Medal)
  • Nobuo Morita, Waseda University, Tokyo, Japan (Certificate)
  • Giin-Fa Fuh, ConocoPhillips, Houston, Texas USA (Certificate) “Casing- and Screen- Failure Analysis in Highly Compacting Sandstone Fields”


Completions Optimization and Technology Award 

  • Craig L. Cipolla, Hess, Houston, Texas, USA


Drilling Engineering Award (2014)

  • Rolv Rommetveit, Drilling Solutions, Bergen, Norway

Fred E. Dupriest, ExxonMobil, USA, was previously approved as the recipient of the 2013 Drilling Engineering Award.


Formation Evaluation Award 

  • Anil Kumar, Omak Technologies, Plano, Texas USA


Health, Safety, Security, Environment and Social Responsibility 

  • John M. Karish, ENSCO, Houston, Texas USA


Management and Information Award 

  • Andrei S. Popa, Chevron, Bakersfield, California USA


Production and Operations Award 

  • Francisco J. Alhanati, C-FER Technologies, Edmonton, Canada


Projects, Facilities and Construction Award 

  • Craig Pauley, Chevron, Bakersfield, California USA


Reservoir Description and Dynamics Award 

  • John Killough, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas USA


Young Member Outstanding Service Award 

  • Brian Chacka, Denbury Resources, Plano, Texas USA
  • Jenny D. Cronlund, BP Exploration, Katy, Texas USA
  • Madhavi V. Jadhav, Schlumberger Asia Services, Mumbai, India
  • Nael N. Sadek, Lufkin Automation, Cairo, Egypt


International Distinguished Corporate Support Award 

  • Saudi Aramco, Dhahran, Saudi Arabia