Home > Committee

About the Carbon Capture and Sequestration Committee

SPE formed the Carbon Capture and Sequestration Committee in 2007 to ensure that CCS is adequately covered in all SPE programs and to provide engineering expertise to the development of CCS technologies, standards, and regulations. The committee works within five subgroups:

  • Events
  • Publications
  • Standards
  • Relationships With Other Organizations
  • Capacity Building

Current major initiatives include the following:

Establishment of a Geologic Resources Management Committee

The SPE Board of Directors recently approved formation of a committee to work with other professional societies to develop a classification framework for geologic storage. The Committee is assisting with the formation of this committee, which will include some of its members.

Carbon Management Project

Members of the CCS Committee are participating in a joint project with the United Engineering Founder Societies to bring together the combined engineering expertise of all the societies to identify practical steps toward managing greenhouse gas emissions. More information on this project can be found at http://fscarbonmanagement.org/

Committee Members

Chairman: Haroon Kheshgi, ExxonMobil Research and Engineering
John Cain, Chevron ETC
Dominique Copin, Total S.A.
Carlos Estrada, Apache Corporation
Rouhi Farajzadeh, Shell International E&P
Scott Frailey, Illinois State Geological Survey
Dou Hongen, Petrochina
George Koperna, Advanced Resources International Inc.
Max Prins, Shell International E&P
Hisham Saadawi, Abu Dhabi Company Onshore Oil Opr
Subhash Thakur, BP America
Mehdi Zeidouni, University of Texas